Recipe: Coconut Lime Bars from How to Cook Everything Vegetarian by Mark Bittman

Ingredients:
8 tablespoons butter
1 3/4 cups sugar
Pinch salt
1 cup plus 3 tablespoons flour
2 teaspoons grated lime zest
3 eggs
1/4 cup lime juice
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 cup shredded coconut

Preheat oven to 350F. Grease an 8-inch square baking pan.

Cream the butter with 1/4 cup sugar and pinch of salt. Mix in 1 cup flour and zest to make a dry crumbly mixture, and pat into the greased pan. Cook for 20 minutes, until edges are golden brown. Let cool a little while you make the topping.

Place the eggs, lime juice and remaining sugar in a bowl and beat together until thick and light. Mix in remaining 3 tablespoons flour and baking soda. Pour over the cooled crust.

Sprinkle coconut on top and cook in oven for 25-30 minutes, until set but still a little jiggly in the center. Let cool completely before cutting.

Notes: I didn’t notice until I was typing up this recipe that this is exactly the same flavors as the last dessert I made, the Florida Pie from March. I know what I like, I guess?

